7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2017 6:27 PM by catdaddy

Optimum customer - McAfee

bugsmo

Greetings. Newbie here.

Question is about optimum provided mcafee multiaccess security - Internet security FULL Scan in particular.

Using a macOS Sierra v 10.12.3

I rarely see the FULL Scan finish. Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 8.36.59 AM.png

99% of the time "scanning in progress" with THREATS detected.

My concern is three fold:

1/ Why is it the scan rarely finishes?

2/ If and when I bail on a scan in progress are the detected threats quarantined or removed?

3/ On the rare occasion that a scan completes and threats are detected - must I review the threats and take an action?

I believe i checked the Quarantine icon on the McAfee console finding it empty.

Screen Shot 2017-02-11 at 11.45.04 AM.png

Thank you in advance for your patient reply.

Bugsmo

• 2. Re: Optimum customer - McAfee
          catdaddy

bugsmo,

There is a FAQ  for this issue however that has been quite a long time ago, and am uncertain if it is still applicable? Perhaps you can contact Technical Support/Select Mac opposed to Windows PC. Via Phone/Online Chat By far the Quickest.

https://service.mcafee.com/webcenter/portal/cp/home/contact

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 3. Re: Optimum customer - McAfee
            Peter M

Not having a Mac doesn't help but I can answer partially based on the experience in Windows.

You asked:

1/ Why is it the scan rarely finishes?

It's getting hung on a file, probably a zipped one.  Best contact Technical Support directly.by phone or online chat.

2/ If and when I bail on a scan in progress are the detected threats quarantined or removed?

They should still be in the Quarantine folder as threats or possibly unwanted programs (PUPs - in the Windows version this is a separate drawer or section inside Quarantine).

3/ On the rare occasion that a scan completes and threats are detected - must I review the threats and take an action?