3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2008 12:38 PM by rrathbun

Transfering EPO 4.0.0 to new server

Hi all,

I'm new to McAfee so please bare with me!!

I had a quick look on the McAfee website but couldn't find anything (plus my pc is running out of steam and I don't have any more coal for it, so wasn't very thorough)

Where I work to, I set up the McAfee EPO on a server which has becoming terminally ill and is slowly dying before my very eyes (its very sad)

Unfortunatly if it dies, it also takes the EPO with it and all my precious settings. The database isn't being backed up as far as im aware, so I will be screwed in my e-arse if this happens.

I need to move it to a new server. Im guessing that I will need to install the EPO from scratch onto this new server. Once this is done how do i:

- Move the database onto this new server
      - Export the polices and workstations/servers
      - Get the workstations / servers to look at this new server without having to redeploy the Mcafee agent

As for my distributed repositories - Will they have to recreated?

Sorry for the long post and many questions! However due to the nature of it, I want to make sure I get this right!

Thanks in advance

Dave happy
        • 1. RE: Transfering EPO 4.0.0 to new server
          How many hosts does the server support? It may be easier to backup your scan policies / agent keys and rebuild from scratch.

Documenting your settings is probably the toughest part about setting up EPO IMHO. As for the agents, you could forcefully take them over or export your keys before you decommission the server.

I have some templates created for documenting the server settings and scan policies if you want them let me know. I put hours of work into them and will happily share with those interested.

robert_rathbun@hotmail.com
          • 2. RE: Transfering EPO 4.0.0 to new server
            Hi Robert,

Thanks for your reply.