2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2017 12:08 PM by jhall2

Agent Handlers Communication with ePO Server

tiffanyyor23

My coworkers and I am experiencing an issue with server task locking up and lasting up to 107 hours.  This ultimately disrupts services for our HBSS team and requires the servers to be rebooted.  We shut down our agent handler, then ePO, followed by the database.  I was told it had to be done this way because the agent handlers need to communicate with the ePO and if ePO goes offline then will just continue passing it information.  I am new to HBSS administration so I don't know all the facts.  So, I have several questions.  Do agent handlers just blindly pass information to ePO or do they require an acknowledgement.  How often to agent handlers communicate with the ePO?  I have checked under the Agent Handler list option, but only tells me the last time there was communication.  Not how often is should be expected.  I ask these questions because I have found that I can just restart ePO services to end the hung task instead of rebooting the entire suite, but my Team Lead has concerns that this will negatively impact communication and lead to data from agent handlers not being passed to the ePO.

• 1. Re: Agent Handlers Communication with ePO Server
          tao

How often to agent handlers communicate with the ePO?

Agent Handlers use a work queue in the McAfee ePO database as their primary communication mechanism.

Agent Handlers check the server work queue every 10 seconds and perform the requested action (IF there is an action to be performed). Typical actions include agent wake-up calls, requests for product deployment, and data channel messages. These frequent communications to the database require relatively high speed, low latency connection between the Agent Handler and the McAfee ePO database.

Page 141 is a good starting point: