6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2017 1:25 PM by tallmega

Data Enrichment and Custom Types

tallmega

Hello all,

I'm fairly new at this, but I've been trying to create a correlation rule that alerts when a user is added to the local administrators group on Windows machines.

This works, my rule looks for 'A member was added to a security-enabled local group' (43-263047320), among a few others. 

Unfortunately, Microsoft sends only the SIDs, and relies on the viewing client to determine who added who to what group.  ESM will resolve the SID of the user doing the adding, and the group being added to, but not the user that got added!  This just comes in as a custom type called 'Security_ID' and gives me a SID.  See the attached screenshot.

I've been experimenting with Data Enrichment through either ldap or SQL.  Using LDAP trying to query 'ObjectSID' produces an error.   I've been able to successfully query the Object SID (and resolve SAMAccountName) in my IAM SQL database, but in Destination I am unable to select Security_ID (or any custom type) as a lookup field, no matter which data source i select!   It is available in the Custom Types menu, but it's not editable.

How are others doing this?

Thanks,

Kevin

• 1. Re: Data Enrichment and Custom Types
          sssyyy

Really? the event should contain both source user (actioned by) and destination user (added user). Correlation rule should just be Signature ID, and object = the security group name which you are interested in.

• 2. Re: Data Enrichment and Custom Types
            acommons

Try this:

(1) Make the Custom Type a String

(2) Assign it to Custom Field 9 or 10 to keep it out of the way of other user related fields.

• 3. Re: Data Enrichment and Custom Types
              xded

there is Blog entry fro Dataenrichment in this community. --> SIEM Foundations: Implement Enrichment to Pull in Full User Name From AD

You can use this to enrich you SIEM from SID to Username.