5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2008 7:13 AM by Turift

Newbie Question

Hi There,

I am VERY new to EPO, our security admin has left, and the tasks have been assigned to me for the time being. I know NOTHING about this and have a simple question, I'm sure.

We are running EPO 4.0 in an enterprise environment. I have 2 servers that have the virus scan client on them, and I need to disable those clients permanently. How would I go about doing that? I'm sure I have left out a ton of information, so please let me know what else is needed and I will do my best to answer.

Thanks for the help,
      Debbie
        • 1. RE: Newbie Question
          Quick solution:
          Search for the computer in "Quick System Search"
          Select the system and click delete. A new option apears lower left corner, choose remove agent and then ok. This will delete the system.

BUT
          That will not disable autoinstallation, if enabled;

If you want to disable that, select the computer and click "Modify Task on Single System" and first uncheck "Task and schedule settings" then click edit deployment, could be named to something completely different, and click on the minus sign under "2 Configuration" to remove the different deployment tasks.
          Save.
          • 2. RE: Newbie Question
            Thanks for the response. I just spoke with the guy that used to administer our EPO, and he suggested that I not remove virus scan, and I agree. Rather he suggested I create group, move the server into that group and apply a policy that disables on-access scan. When the server’s administrator his done with his maintenance, move it out of that group. I thought it sounded pretty straight forward, but he said it’s not and suggested that I call McAfee for assistance. I thought I would start here. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Debbie
            • 3. RE: Newbie Question
              That sounds like a better approach.