5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2008 10:23 AM by FnR

McAfee training courses - worthwhile?

Background: currently administer an inherited ePO 3.6 system with roughly 3500 clients (VSE 8.5, HIPS 7, CMA 3.6). Starting to look into moving towards ePO 4.0 and CMA 4.0 eventually. So far self-taught in 3.6 from scratch using mostly the Mcafee docs and posts from this site and others.

Question: as budget is formed for the ePO 4.0 migration there may be some opportunity to incorporate some training money. Has anyone here taken the ePO class from Mcafee? For someone who is pretty comfortable with ePo 3.6, is there really much to be learned from such a class? the class alone is roughly $3200 (not including travel and hotel/food/etc which would probably push it up to around the $5k for just one person). The class would have to be pretty informative to warrant me asking for that amount of money. Any comments or insight welcome...

http://www.mcafee.com/us/enterprise/services/product_training/intranet_defense.h tml
        • 1. RE: McAfee training courses - worthwhile?
          Last year, I took the 3.6.1 EPO Class and found it to be helpfull. I have since moved on to 4.0 and have been told "Unofficially" to wait until training for 4.1 is out. I guess the current 4.0 class is 3.6.1 with more emphasis on reporting. The class for 4.1 will be a rewrite.

Microtek in Downtown Chicago has a really nice facility and is withing walking distance to Trains and or Buses.

4.0 took some getting used to, but now I struggle when I have to look at a old 3.x epo box.

HIPS has just been dropped in lap and I am looking at that class.....Unfortunately it isn't offered in Illinois.
          • 2. RE: McAfee training courses - worthwhile?
            I took the ePO 4.0 class back in January 2008. You do a lot of basic things that you may already know. Install, configure, setup ePO. Agent wake up calls, installing agent, reporting, and so on so forth.