9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2016 5:10 AM by awnishkumar643

Need to upgrade EPO 4.5

awnishkumar643

Dear All,

Hope everyone is doing well.

Im very new to McAfee and i have joined a company who are running McAfee EPO version 4.5, and they need to upgrade their EPO to the latest version, but one condition that the upgrade should be done only once. For example from 4.5 to 4.6 or any applicable version.

Please guide and suggest.

Early reply will be really helpful.

Thanks and Regards,

Awnish.

• 1. Re: Need to upgrade EPO 4.5
          Dutchman39

I was in the same position - almost - a couple of years ago, with an acquisition.

In my opinion, if they are on a version of ePO that old, chances are nothing else has been updated, either.

I would suggest deploying a brand (spanking) new server (physical or virtual, as per need), with the latest/greatest versions of McAfee software. Then migrate your systems in a controlled manner. This gives you an opportunity to 'do it right' and 'make it yours'.

One (brutal) consideration you'll need to take into account is the deployed software. Certainly, HIPS, EEPC, etc may (and will) complicate matters.

Once complete, :-) - either eWaste the old system, or donate it to a museum of antiquities.... :-)

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Need to upgrade EPO 4.5
            awnishkumar643

Thanks  Dutchman39 for your reply..i hope will get a new EPO installed soon with the latest version Thanks again for your valuable reply.

If possible can you please let me know from which minimum version upgrade is possible?

• 3. Re: Need to upgrade EPO 4.5
              Dutchman39

Good luck - I think you'll be happy with the solution.

If you're creating a new ePO system, it doesn't really matter about upgrading. Set it up, establish your software versions and migrate some machines.