2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2016 9:08 PM by lozaza

    System deleted from system tree after AD sync

    lozaza

      I have a system tree with AD sync which looks like this

       

      My organisation

      Production

      Group A

      Computer

      Group B

       

      I created 'computer' subgroup under 'Group A' and manually moved systems added via AD sync from 'Group A' to 'Computer'. It is an exact mirror as AD structure except the 'computer' subgroup.

      Sorting is disabled. AD sync is set up at 'Production' level with 'Leave systems in their current System Tree location only' ticked.

      'When systems are deleted from the synchronization point: Delete the systems from the System Tree.'

      So the goal is make sure all the existing systems are sync from AD but stay in the group I wanted.

       

      Problem is

      Once it sync again, systems in 'computer' are all gone. Completely disappeared from the system tree. I have done several tests on my VM also same result. I Thought 'When systems are deleted from the synchronization point' means when it got deleted from the AD not moved between groups in system tree.

       

      Any thought is welcome.

        • 1. Re: System deleted from system tree after AD sync
          ja2013

          Part 1 -

          >> I created 'computer' subgroup under 'Group A' and manually moved systems added via AD sync from 'Group A' to 'Computer'. It is an exact mirror as AD structure except the 'computer' subgroup. Sorting is disabled. AD sync is set up at >>'Production' level with 'Leave systems in their current System Tree location only' ticked. 'When systems are deleted from the synchronization point: Delete the systems from the System Tree.'

          >>So the goal is make sure all the existing systems are sync from AD but stay in the group I wanted.

          Part 2 -

          >>Once it sync again, systems in 'computer' are all gone.

          If your System Tree doesn't look like AD it gets removed! In other words your tree will always look like AD. Your tree looks different, good-bye.

          Make perm changes to AD in terms of structure. If you move things around the ePO system tree, it will no longer look like AD.

          If you use the other option of Leave the system..., your tree will differ from AD.

          Another approach, make the addition to lost and found temporarily until next sync. It isnt perfect unless it is in AD.

          1 of 1 people found this helpful