5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2008 12:22 PM by SergeM

Distributed Repository

SergeM
      Hi,

I've been managing our ePO servers for about 3 months now, so I'm quite new at this.
      We presently have two different servers (S1 = ePO3.6 and S2 = ePO4.0 ; the 3.6 will be upgraded in the near future).
      For geographic reasons, we need to install Distributed Repositories (DR) in some distant sites.

I've done some reading (ePO4 Install Guide & Product Guide) but am not 100% sure of how this works.

1. From the manuals it somehow looks like a DR is not much more than a PC on which I'd promote the McAfee Agent to SuperAgent - is it that simple ? In another place it looks like a full server install ? :confused:

2. How do I install/create a DR ? I've read the manual but I'm not sure how to proceed.
        Do I take a server (PC with SQL DB) and then install an ePO Server ?
        How do I then declare it as a DR to the first SVR ?
        Do the DR pull the updates/packages from the main SVR or do they connect to the nai/mcafee servers ?

3. Bonus : could I use one of the two servers I already have as a fallback site in case the other one can't connect to McAfee FTP site for updates ? Is this recommended ?

thanks for your answers
      Serge
        • 1. RE: Distributed Repository
          I am using super agents as distributed repositories in our locations worldwide

and yes, it is that easy.

just change the CMA / MA policy for that PC (I am using servers, because the repository should be available, you can also use a PC which is turned on all the time):

1.) convert agent to superagent
          2.) wait until it is recognized as a superagent
          3.) enable the option that it should be used as a distributed repository and enter the path where you would like the files to be stored
          3.) replicate the master to the distributed repository