1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 18, 2008 9:45 AM by Travler

CMA 3.6 with VSE 8.0

Are these compatible? I was told by tech support that they were, however, I cannot get it to install with VSE 8.0. I am running it on a few machines with VSE 8.5 and I have no problem deploying it by using a task, but for some reason it will not deploy to 8.0 machines. I want to upgrade to EPO 4.0, but cannot do this until I upgrade the agent to 3.6. Any help would be great.

I was also told that if I export the VSE 8.0 policy and import it into 8.5, the 8.0 policy settings will no longer be valid. That doesn't sound right to me, but I am new to this so maybe it will make sense if someone explains it. I want to upgrade our 600 machines in groups of 100 instead of all at once. Is this a normal best practice?
        • 1. RE: CMA 3.6 with VSE 8.0
          Travler
          CMA 3.6 certainly works with 8.0; while our network is mostly 8.5 now, we still have some holdovers (especially servers) running 8.0 with CMA 3.6. Specifically, we are running CMA 3.6.0.574, which I believe is Patch3.

Your policy export/import info doesn't sound right to me either. When we started upgrading to 8.5, I imported my 8.0 policies without a hitch. It would have been a nightmare to re-enter each of those policies individually (not to mention all the opportunities for error in doing so).