4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2016 9:48 AM by tfk23

Error while trying to deploy third party package created with EEDK

yonatanc

Hi guys,

I'm new to the EEDK tool and need some help.

In order to test this product I've created the simplest batch file, the content of which is: "cmd /c calc". All it does is run the Calculator.

I've used the EEDK using these settings:

Capture.JPG

I'm not what are the "Product Detection Key" and "Product Detection Key Value" are for so I left them to defaults.

When I test the package, in the agent  monitor I see it gets to "Verifying run_calc.bat", and in the Task Manager I see a new process for calc.exe, but the calculator window itself doesn't open.

If I press End Task for the calc.exe the Agent Monitor says: "Error occurred while installing run_calc"

What am I doing wrong?

• 1. Re: Error while trying to deploy third party package created with EEDK
          catdaddy

yonatanc,

Moved to ePolicy Orchestrator > (ePO) > Discussions per (Profile) for better assistance. If needed to be moved back to 'Other McAfee Products' (EEDK) please apprise.

Cliff

• 2. Re: Error while trying to deploy third party package created with EEDK
            tfk23

The McAfee agent launches cmd /c calc under the system account.   In order to work the batch file should have no user interaction or wait for something to close.   Instead of opening the calc try something like creating a directory to see if it get pass the verifying

Here is the information about the two values

Product Detection Key:

The Product Detection Key field dictates the registry location that contains the “Product Detection Key Value”. In the EEDK Tool, abbreviate top-level key names. (Example – HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE should be abbreviated to HKLM)

Product Detection Key Value: