1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2011 2:52 AM by Richard Carpenter

Deploy ePO agent...

Hi!
      I am new to ePO server and I am having some problems automatically deploying the agents.
      I can manually deploy them through the console or via the framepkg.exe, but I want my machines to get the agent installed automatically.

I tried creating a 'Client Tasks' targeting the group where my computers are located. I chose 'Product Deployment (McAfee Agent)' and 'ePO Agent 3.6.0'.

This doesn't seem to have any effect on machines that don't already have the agent installed. In the logs of machines that have the agent installed (manually) I can see that the task is run...

Is this procedure not correct? How do you deploy agents?

Thanks in advance!

/Michael
        • 1. RE: Deploy ePO agent...
          Do the machines in question have a firewall enabled? Even the XP firewall will block the agent push.
          • 2. RE: Deploy ePO agent...
            No, the XP firewall is disabled...
            • 3. RE: Deploy ePO agent...
              There should already be a "deployment" task in the task payne for you're directory.

Can you make sure it's enabled in all the right places and that the "Setting" section are correct.

Another option you could try is deploy a rogue sensor in the section where the machine in question are, set it to automatically push an agent to machines it discovers. However, if the "Deployment" task is set up correctly it should work.
              • 4. RE: Deploy ePO agent...
                There are no tasks besides the ones I have made myself. The deployment-task I have made has the following settings:

Type: Product Deployment (McAfee Agent)
                Product and components: ePO Agent 3.6.0, Install, English
                Options: Run at every policy enforcement (Windows only) is enabled
                Schedule status: enabled
                Schedule type: daily
                Daily: Every 1 days