8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2015 5:55 AM by itzamlan

Is only one regex need to be deployed for parsing all kinds of logs?

itzamlan

I am very new to the appliance. And have not tried deploying any regex for parsing the log data. My question is, I have four different databases : Netezza, postgres, SQLServer and Oracle. And all these four dbs have different log formats. So is it like, I have to write a single regex which could work for all these different kinds of logs. Or can I put mulitple regexes based on the format of the logs?

I attended a demo session for the same, and the presenter showed me only one console available for putting the regex. So is it the only one console available for all the regexes? Then how do I split the regexes? What would be delimiter in this case?

For Oracle, and SQLServer I have heard like there is out of box support available. So How do I use it?

Once again.., since I am very new to this appliance, need to understand the basics of it. In the mean time I have gone through several docs, but I was not able to catch the no. of regexes that needs to be deployed for parsing a variety of logs.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Is only one regex need to be deployed for parsing all kinds of logs?
          rhinomike

itzamlan

No. You don't need a single regex. In fact most supported devices will have more than 1 regex, far more...  help

This document may help

Good luck

• 2. Re: Is only one regex need to be deployed for parsing all kinds of logs?
            itzamlan

rhinomike

It happened to be like, I have gone through the doc mentioned by you.

But, here my question is what delimiter do we use to differentiate between two different regexes? Let it for a db we receive more than one format in the logs, so we put multiple regexes based on our need. So here do we put all the regexes in the same console? And if so, how do we differentiate?

• 3. Re: Is only one regex need to be deployed for parsing all kinds of logs?