3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2015 5:52 PM by washingj77

HIPS Failed Logon Attempt (Windows)

washingj77

I’m pretty new to the Mcafee Technology in reference to ePO and HIPs so please excuse the lack of detail. I’m currently working with a Server that has ePO 4.6 installed on it and to keep things simple I have a Windows 7 system with HIPS installed on it  that is managed by the ePO Server. 

I was looking for a signature in the IPS rules on the ePO Server that could track failed login attempts on my managed system – in which I did find but the signature (954) is one of the Signatures that are in the default policy that doesn’t show the expert rules associated with that particular signature.  This signature does not trigger no matter what setting (Severity) it set it at and I’m not sure what the problem would be.

Currently, I’m just looking for anyone that has a custom Signature that can track Failed logon attempts on Windows Hosts and if possible Linux host?

• 1. Re: HIPS Failed Logon Attempt (Windows)
          Kary Tankink

HIPS 7.0 and 8.0 does not have this functionality.  Signature 954 does not apply to HIPS 7 or 8; older HIPS versions (6.x) are EOL.

General Signature Description

(Refer to KB article 51504 for details about supported platforms.) This event indicates a failed logon attempt. This could be the result of a brute force password-guessing attempt. Note: Signature is not applicable to Host IPS 7.0 and above. 

References: CVE-1999-0575 

• 2. Re: HIPS Failed Logon Attempt (Windows)
            Kary Tankink

McAfee Solidcore (Application and Change Control) can perform this function though with the UAT-MON module and Event IDs below.

KB76990 - User LOGON / LOGOFF events are not reported for Change Control 5.x and 6.x

KB81141 - ePolicy Orchestrator Event IDs for Application and Change Control (Solidcore)

20789: User Logged On (Info)

20790: User Logon Failed (Info)

20791: User Logged Off (Info)

20792: User Account Created (Info)