4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2015 5:34 PM by ja2013

DETech Standalone for Drive Encryption 7.1.1 never opens the DETech application

josh.wigley

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to this product so sorry if this question might sound amateur.

This is the overview of the situation I'm currently in.

- We have purchased 30 HP Elitebook 755 G2 laptops. When we first got them encrypted, we were able to restart the laptops once and they would run fine, however upon a second restart the laptops will not boot past the BIOS. You can see the screen flicker with the Mcafee Encryption 7.X.X loading screen, but you are never presented with a login.

- After a while we figured that the TPM drivers must be the cause of the issue, we removed the drivers off the PC and they appeared to fix the issue. Everything was working fine for a few weeks until the same issue occurred again. These laptops have Windows Updates turned off to stop the drivers from being put back on.

- After a collection 3 and a bit hours on the phone to McAfee support I still haven't managed to get the DETech stuff from booting. I am presented with 3 options which are:

1) Start DETech

2) Set BootDisk

3) Set Configuration

Whenever I select Start DETech, it never proceeds any further. I got the McAfee technician to send me the correct version of the DETech I need for our version but this still doesn't seem to work. I have tried this on USB, CD, and Floppy and they've produced identical results. I'm starting to think that clearly I'm doing something wrong, but I am only following the guide which McAfee gave me, and this still doesn't seem to work either...