5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2015 10:32 PM by markbkk88

Mcafee EPO version 5.3.0 Evaluation

markbkk88

Dear Community

I am a newbie to Mcafee Epo but have 12 years experience in System admin. I have been asked by my company to evaluate this product so have set up a hyper-v test lab with a fully functional domain, 2 servers and 2 workstations.I have downloaded 5.3 evaluation copy of epo and installed onto a windows 2008 r2 server.

I have deployed the agent to my devices and the product improvement program 1.5.0 and everything appears to be running smoothly.

My problem is I cannot get any other software to deploy.

I have downloaded and ckeckin the products below and it appears under My products:

mcaf1.png

The software also appears in package if I create a new product deployment project:

mcaf2.png

However on creation of the deployment project – the installation never gets past pending:

mcaf3.png

I also noticed if I try to create a deployment through Customize Installation on the dashboard, the checkin software is not there.

mcaf4.png

If anyone has any ideas I would love to hear from you…..could it be licencing as I’m using Evaluation software?

Also as I am a newbie…any tips on troubleshooting the issue would be more than helpful!

All the best!

Kind Regards Mark

• 1. Re: Mcafee EPO version 5.3.0 Evaluation
          norbertg

I've noticed with Agent 5 that I have checked in it doesn't appear under master repository since it's in Eval whereas 4.8 does cos it's in current branch.

You also need to check in the Extensions under Menu - Extensions. This might be the reason why you can't see anything under checking software..

As for deployment, somethings are product deployments somethings are product updates (e.g vse 8.8 to 8.8 patch 5). I had to create a client task and use the agent product update feature to update our VSE 8.8 to 8.8p5. A new install might be different and a product deployment.

• 2. Re: Mcafee EPO version 5.3.0 Evaluation