5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2015 1:35 PM by msiemens

Recommendations when using a load balancer before the MWG

malware-alerts

I've been trying to find recommendations when using a load-balancer in front of MWGs (not using the internal MWG LB mecanism).

Particularly around these settings:

• Algorythm (Round-robin should do?)
      • Persistency (Source IP would be my guess)
      • Persistency timeout

Any feedback appreciated.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Recommendations when using a load balancer before the MWG
          asabban

Hello,

unfortunately I am not very good with load balancers so I probably miss some points but from my experience in the past the most important fact is persistency. For some MWG features (Progress Pages, Quotas, Coaching, PD Storage) it is important that a client keeps talking to the same MWG node. PD Storage (which also holds the quota information) is not synchronized live in a cluster but only every few minutes, and if a client hops between MWGs you may accept a quota session on Node A and Node B does not (yet) know about this fact.

Similar happens for progress pages. If you download an ISO only the MWG where you started the download knows about this. The progress pages do not use a persistent connection between client or MWG (such as Data Trickling does), but every 3 seconds the Progress Page in the browser contacts MWG and asks for an update.

If your client is talking to a virtual IP and a different MWG is asked it does not know about the download, so it will cancel.

From my point of view Round Robin is fine, but persistency should be configured. If the load balancer is smart enough it is probably able to collect some performance metrics and ensure all traffic is equally balanced across all MWG nodes, otherwise "stupid" round robin should also bring acceptable results.