1 2 Previous Next 13 Replies Latest reply: Aug 18, 2014 6:45 AM by andrep1 RSS

Deployment of McAfee Agent throught RAH?

Hi all,

I'm in the process of migrating to McAfee from F-Secure, so I'm a total noob here - and will really appreciate some help from the experts

We have a compartmentalized network with 30-40 DMZ's, a few large ones with 150-600 servers and local AD domains, and a bunch of others with fewer servers, typical in workgroups.

We installed ePO on a central server in its own DMZ and the thought was to install RAH's in the large DMZ's to ease deployment (push from ePO via the RAH) - and do manual install of the McAfee Agent on each workgroup computer with proper ports open to/from the ePO server.

In the System Tree we have created a group for the DMZ servers, but nothing gets populated into the Lost&Found group.

I had hoped that the domain computers in the DMZ would be discovered and populated into the Lost&Found automatically, but alas, it doesn't seem to happen.

Do I need to ensure some kind of discovery task?

Or have we misunderstood the concept?

Thanks a lot!

• 1. Re: Deployment of McAfee Agent throught RAH?

the use of lostandfound is to group all systems that could not be sorted with group IP or tag sorting.

So are your systems showing up at all in ePO?

Maybe you are thinking of rogue system detection (RSD)? RSD's purpose is to detect unmanaged systems. For this to work you need sensors in each broadcast domain that listen to broadcast from systems to identify which are unmanaged. THen from there you can push an agent to your detected systems, with the proper credentials.

• 2. Re: Deployment of McAfee Agent throught RAH?

No, no systems are showing up in the ePO yet. I haven't set up any tags yet, because I thought I could do that later - and just start out by moving the found computers (albeit currently none) into groups manually.