5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2015 4:49 PM by sw41

Installing EPO 5.1.1 on 2012R2

Commodores

I have installed EPO 4.x before on 2008R2 servers and it has been quite straight forward installing the included SQL Express 2008.

However 2012R2 does not support SQL Express 2008. I have installed SQLEXPRWT_x64_ENU.exe (SQL Server 2012) using all default options, but I have no experience of SQL server and to be honest do not have a clue what I am doing - my job as a Primary School IT Technician does not normally require this level of knowledge and no other software uses this, but as this is provided free from the local authority I have no other option but to use this. As a result the system is also only a one server system and not virtualised (which would be overkill for a school this small).

After installing the above file I have told EPO to install custom/Microsoft SQL server use an existing Microsoft SQL server and manually searching for SQL servers and fails with Setup was unable to get a list of SQL servers in your environment. Saying No displays the manual setup screen where I have entered Database Server as the servername, database name as ePO_servername, windows authentication with the administrator details and left port blank. Firewall is completely disabled on the server as the incoming connection is NAT translation and completely filtered by the local authority which also supplies the broadband connection. I then get an error Setup is unable to access SQL UDP port 1434.

The only ports that should cause issues are 8080, 8081, 8082,8083, 8084 and 8085 as these are the incoming internet proxy server ports (they have different filtering levels). As mentioned I have disabled the firewall so this can't be causing any issues. I also think port 80 cannot be used as it is used for HTTPS