1 2 Previous Next 10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2015 5:18 AM by mcnoob

ePO VSS 8.8 Update and Deployment

mcnoob

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to the McAfee family of AV products (I've managed Symantec and Trend in previous enterprises), and I'm struggling with a new implementation. With the help of McAfee support staff, I was able to get a new ePO 5.1 server up-and-running, and have migrated all of our 4.6 clients to that new server. I currently have a mix of VSE 8.8.0.975.Wrk and VSE 8.8.0.1247 clients in ePO. My understanding is that VSE 8.8.1247 is the latest iteration of VSE 8.8, and that it was pushed to new clients via a Client Task (Install virus scan and upgrade agent). We also have a 'Daily DAT update' task. Both the install/upgrade and the daily dat update tasks were created by the McAfee support person I spoke with.

In Software Manager under VSE 8.8, I can see that we currently have 8.8.0.1247 ((Install - Windows (Patch 4) component)  checked in, along with Patch 2. The console is then showing Patch 3 and Patch 4 available, with 'Update' bolded in the Actions pane. My goal is to pull down Patch 4, then deploy that to all client machines that need it. My questions are:

1. Am I correct in assuming tha I can update from 8.8.0.975.Wrk to Patch 4 (which I assume is 8.8.0.1247)?

2. In Software Manager, can I skip Patch 3 and simply check in Patch 4 for VSE 8.8?

3. In Software Manager, when obtaining Patch 4 should I use the 'Check In (branch)' or the 'Update' Action?

4. Once I have VSE 8.8 Patch 4, how do I push this to the clients that need it? I assume I need to create a Client Task>McAfee Agent>Product Update, but I'm fuzzy on the details.

My apologies if this is a simple task (it seemed like it when the support technician did the initial setup!), I would have searched these forums for an answer but for the life of me I could not find a search button. :|

Thank You,

doomjack

• 1. Re: ePO VSS 8.8 Update and Deployment
          laxkeep