3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2014 9:55 AM by dmease729

EEFF - Unexpected results with 'Removable Media' category settings

dmease729

Hi,

Environment: EEFFv4.2 running on ePO 4.6.6.  EEFF itself running on Win7 Pro SP1 32-bit.

I am new to EEFF, and currently have version 4.2 deployed on a lab Win7 VM host running in VMWare Workstation.  With respect to the 'Removable Media (UBP)' category I have tested the following protection levels via Policy Assignment Rules:

Allow Encryption (with offsite access): When policy is assigned, I copied an exe from USB to local disk, and vice versa successfully

Enforce Encryption (with offsite access): When policy is assigned, user was forced to encrypt with a password (if user didnt, device was then Read Only).  Files could then be copied from USB to local disk and vice versa.  When USB inserted into another host, password had to be entered before files were accessible.

Enforce Encryption (on site access only): Encryption key set to 'Key1' and 'ignore existing content' selected.  I also ensured that the 'Grant Keys (UBP)' policy assigned included this Key.  It was a regular key created in EEFF Keys. This was slightly problematic - nothing seemed to happen when USB was connected.  I could then copy files from USB, but when trying to copy a file to the USB, I received the error below.

80070052.JPG

Questions:

- EEFF v4.2 Product Guide p18 advises that when 'allow encryption (with offsite access)' is selected, no further unencrypted data can be written to the device.  This differs to what I have noted, as I could still write unencrypted files to the USB device.  Are my results expected?