4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 21, 2014 4:10 PM by rth67

Adding Domain Controllers into ESM

sssyyy

Hello,

I am new to ESM, and I have got a list of 16 domain controllers in the environment, mixture of windows 2003 and 2012.

Does anyone know what's the best way to add them into ESM, and do I really need to add all of them?

Thanks in advance.

SY

• 1. Re: Adding Domain Controllers into ESM
          mperrin

Your best bet is to create a system profile for Windows Logs...

Capture.JPG

wmi.JPG

Then you can just choose that profile for each of your DC's.  Makes setting them up a lot faster.

• 2. Re: Adding Domain Controllers into ESM
            pepelepuu

Actually, especially since you have 16 DC's the Best Practice approach would be to use DC's Profile. Create System Profile for your DC's, using the method above as described by @mperrin. Then you could actually, do a autolearn, and automatically add them via a create rule, based on there system name, or IPs. Presuming you have naming standards in place for server roles.

• 3. Re: Adding Domain Controllers into ESM
              mp63

To answer the question "do all DCs need to be added as data sources?"   In my experience, Yes.   Mainly because of security group changes.  Events for changes to a security group remains on the DC it was made on.  It does not get transferred to the PDC.  We alert on changes to high access groups such as Domain Admins, Enterprise Admins, etc.  Those events can come from anywhere.  You'll also want to be able to see all authentications on all of your DCs.