3 Replies Latest reply: May 2, 2009 4:18 AM by Maximilius RSS

Dont know who Administrator is

:eek: The person that had owner rights on this computer and myself are unable to log in thru our user accounts. Both our password's just wont work. It's been about a week since this happened. And since then the computer is out of whack. I was told that I have the"Virus Remover 2009" virus. But unable to take certain steps because I have no Administrator rights. My computer is really running bad she's very slow, I keep getting error's , windows open out of no where. I'm running Windows XP on a HP Pavilion. Please Help. I'm a freaked out beginner:confused: And thanks I really apprecite your help.
        • 1. RE: Dont know who Administrator is
          Vinod R

Did you try safe mode ?

This thread will be moved to an appropriate thread since you have posted in tests thread.... on the next posts try to include as much details as possible on the operating system ,make, service pack , RAM and any other details that you feel might be useful...... more the info easier it would for one of us to assist happy
          • 2. RE: Dont know who Administrator is
            You can try logging in as a SYSTEM user and create a new Windows profile to work on.

Instructions to become SYSTEM user: ( http://hackspc.com/how-to-become-the-system-user-in-windows-xp/ )

Once done, go to Start > Run > control userpasswords2 > create new profile. You should be able to reset your password and the admin password here as well. If you're not able to do this, try it in safe mode.

----------- the above is not exactly necessary but if you wish to try create a new profile, please go ahead-----------

Once done, go to Safe Mode (preferably with Networking). In Safe Mode, please check the Task Manager and make sure none of the below programs are running. If they are, please end it.

■ ExtSecurityCenter.exe
            ■ PP.exe
            ■ Uninstall.exe
            ■ VRM2009.exe