6 Replies Latest reply: May 12, 2014 6:44 AM by bluefish RSS

Client task for HIPS 8 Hotfix in ePO 4.6?

bluefish

Hello all. I'm relatively new at using ePO so forgive me for my ignorance. I have searched and searched and can't find a solution for my particular issue although, I have found solutions for other issues unintentionally!

So I have a test group and have the HIPS 8 patch and hotfix checked in to my master repository under the evaluation branch. I created a policy and assigned my policy to my test group. My policy specifies to pull updates from the evaluation branch for HIPS patches, service packs, and content.

My test group is getting the HIPS 8 patch but not the hotfix. Is there a way to create a client task just for the hotfix in ePO 4.6?

I also had a test group for VSE 8.8 patch and hotfix setup the same way (pulling from the evaluation branch) and that one installed the patch and hotfix fine.

• 1. Re: Client task for HIPS 8 Hotfix in ePO 4.6?
          rackroyd

You'd need to check with the Hips people about that rather than ePO. The behaviour seems product-specific.

Moved to Hips group.

Message was edited by: rackroyd on 08/05/14 16:12:34 IST
          • 2. Re: Client task for HIPS 8 Hotfix in ePO 4.6?
            bluefish

Thank you. I actually just got it working. I deleted the patch and hotfix from the master repository and started over. I was able to create an update task pulling the newly installed patch and hotfix from the eval branch. It installed successfully on my test machines without issue.

• 3. Re: Client task for HIPS 8 Hotfix in ePO 4.6?
              Kary Tankink
              My test group is getting the HIPS 8 patch but not the hotfix. Is there a way to create a client task just for the hotfix in ePO 4.6?

There is not.  Patches and hotfixes (for any product) are treated the same in regards to update tasks.  There is (usually) no different ePO procedure when applying a HIPS hotfix vs. VSE hotfix.