3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2014 6:34 AM by Tristan

Hand holding reqd for newbie deploying Patch5 to 8.7i via ePo 4.6.6 - HOW???

rhbmcse

Hi folks - first post so please be gentle.

As per the title really.

I should add at this point I have no prior experience with ePo and it has been thrust upon me with no knowledge or training - just "make it so"...

I've checked in patch 5 for 8.7i as my machines are reporting server is end of life or similar - apparently I need this patch then a hotfix whcih I've also downloaded.

I have tried every way possible to figure out how to deploy this patch (now that it's in the repository) to my servers but I just cant figure out how.

Seems that it's a client task but I dont know whether this is classed as a deployment or an upgrade.

I've tried both but I cant see the package I've checked in (and added to the global repository) as selectable anywhere to deploy it.

If anyone could give me some basic instructions (I've read the PDF instruction manual for ePo 4.6.6 - it didnt help at all) on how to make this work I'd really appreciate it.

I've googled around for half a day and I'm at the end of my tether with this one.

Once I've done patch 5 I'll need to do the hotfix which I figure will be the same steps with just a different package.

Really struggling - your help is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Hand holding reqd for newbie deploying Patch5 to 8.7i via ePo 4.6.6 - HOW???
          pierce

First, patch/hotfix need to be checked into Master Repo, have you done this? Also when checking in you pick a branch. Its either in previous, current or evalulation. This is important to know what branch you are using!