7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2014 2:57 PM by Peacekeeper

Artemis!AEAAD6418270

stingrayjg

I have been using the program DVD95Copy since 2006 with no problems from Mcafee this whole time until this weekend. I downloaded a routine periodic update to the program and for the first time McAfee keeps popping up saying that a file has been quarantined automatically. I have consulted online with experts on the program who have told me that the file is not a threat and their advice was to "whitelist" it (which McAfee will not allow me to do) or to add it to the trusted file list (which McAfee will also not let me do.) If I go to the quarantine list and select the quarantined file and attempt to restore the file, it will restore the file but then about 5-10 minutes later, I get another pop-up saying that McAfee has once again quarantined it whether I used the program or not. (I would imagine maybe real-time scanning is doing this?) This file is a vital part of the program and it will not work with this file absent from its proper location in the folder. This is very annoying. The file either needs to be re-classified as a non-threat, or I need to be able to add it as a trusted file so this wrongful quarantine stops, but McAfee will not allow me to. Please help.

P.S. - Just so we can save time, I have already also sent this as a false positive to the virus_research email address as recommended here:

https://community.mcafee.com/thread/2016

I also posted this here as the other recommendation the page gives.

False Artemis screen.jpg

on 3/17/14 1:13:22 AM CDT
        • 1. Re: Artemis!AEAAD6418270
          Peacekeeper

Ok did the submit work ie did you get an immediate reply back with an analysis id included if not you submitted it incorrectly.

If yes can you post the id number here and if you do not have a fix in 4 days post here and I will ping a lab tech to fix/investigate it.

I assume you replied to teh reply as Peter suggested with false +ve in the subject?