6 Replies Latest reply: Mar 20, 2014 10:44 AM by msitko RSS

New to NSM

I am new to the NSM world, and somewhat new to IPS. we are currently using and in the process of updating to This device has been turned on, but nohting has really been configured. Can someone point me in the right direction on where to go to perform some best practices or best first steps now that everything is turned on? What steps would I go through to help eliminate false positives?

• 1. Re: New to NSM

I'm no expert in this field. But you will have to analyze the alerts to figure out if they are false positive or not. most of these depend on your specific environment. But a few good guidelines would be as follows (feel free to correct me if I am wrong)

1. Remove all the noise such as p2p alerts,IM alerts and stuff (you can block/allow them based on your environment but it would be a good idea to defineatly stop the alerting on them since they make up a large part of your alerts.)
          2. Once the noise is removed you can be more focused on the real issues. For tuning futher you need to consider the source and destinations of the attacks. once you do that you also have to figure out if they are relevent to that particular victim (Server/PC). for examples expolits relevent for Apache would not have any effect on IIS servers.
          3. if you are using McAfee default inline IPS it only blocks the attacks which are in the RFSB (Recomended for Smart Blocking) list. these are a group of alerts who have a high confidence level and a very low false positive rate.

Hope the this will be helpful

• 2. Re: New to NSM

More setup: