8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2014 7:30 PM by ajha1

unable to change On-Demand Scan exclusions

rgivens

I'm new to McAfee.  We have McAfee EPO 4.6 with the clients being VSE 8.8 scan engine 5600.1067.  There is a On-Demand policy assigned to servers.  I'd like to add some exclusions to an individual machine not throught the EPO policy that is assigned to numerous machines.  I open up the VirusScan Console on the machine and go to properties of the On-Demain task.  Every option to configure the On-Demand Scan is greyed out, specifically the Exclusions.  I'd like to add a couple of custom exclusions to this machine not globally through the EPO policy.  How do I do that since it's greyed out?  When I look at the policy in the EPO console the exclusions in the policy are not set to Overwrite client exclusions.

One other quick question in regards to exclusions.  Why aren't the On-Access Scanner exclusions the same as the On-Demand exclusions?  I don't want to have to configure exclusions multiple times per machine.  So I have a machine that needs a custom exclusion.  I'm not going to include it in an EPO policy as it just applies to this machine.  I set it in the On-Access Scanner fine then I go into the On-Demand EPO policy and the settings are greyed out.  Shouldn't you be able to set exclusions on a machine in one spot?

• 1. Re: unable to change On-Demand Scan exclusions
          carlsbl1

On Access and On Demand are two entirely different functions.  One runs all the time looking for suspicious activity and files and the other is a scheduled function, like a weekly scan.  They have two different sets of policies.   You will likely find yourself setting more On Access policies than On Demand policies.