9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2014 7:16 AM by dmease729

ESM9.3.1 device status: inactive (ePO server)

dmease729

Hi,

I am very new to ESM, so this may be obvious - I have integrated ESM (local receiver built in) with ePO5.1, and the connection works fine, listing all of the installed products.  I can go to device properties | device management | manual refresh, and the refresh is successful.  The device status is still showing as inactive, however, and also advising there are no events to display - there are definitely VSE events contained within ePO as I triggered an EICAR and EICAR-PUO test and can see the events under the relevant endpoint system information.

I am assuming there is a very simple step I am missing - forgive me if this is in the documentation, I am jumping around between different sections at present!

Thanks in advance!

Darren

• 1. Re: ESM9.3.1 device status: inactive (ePO server)
          Scott Taschler

Hi Darren,

One common cause of this issue is an ePO database name with special characters in it ("-" is a common offender).  Try putting square brackets around the DB name in the ePO device config:

[ePO_server-name]

Scott

• 2. Re: ESM9.3.1 device status: inactive (ePO server)
            dmease729

Hi Scott,

Thanks for swift response - DB name is epo_servername, so there are no special characters in use.  So the use of special characters will result in a successful connection, but the device will show as inactive in ESM?

• 3. Re: ESM9.3.1 device status: inactive (ePO server)
              Scott Taschler