6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2013 9:42 AM by PhilM

Ping between different burbs (zones)

shanwang

HI All,

I am new to McAfee firewall, and got a very simple question to ask. Any response will be much appreciated.

Here is my simple setup in S5032 for testing.

Burb one interface (a dedicated physical port in firewall): 10.0.30.225/28 (zone 1)

Burb two interface (a dedicated physical port in firewall): 10.0.30.241/28 (zone 2)

My host machines connected to each of the above two different zones can ping the zone interface it belongs to. However, hosts in different zones cannot ping each other. I have set up static routes in those hosts to point  to each other. my firewall is in routed mode.

Therefore, my question is that what settings should I make to make the hosts in the differernt zone to be able to ping each other?

I have enabled "Response to ICMP echo and timestamp" and "Hornor ICMP redirect" option in burb interface configuration.

Thanks in advance,

Shan

• 1. Re: Ping between different burbs (zones)
          PhilM

Have you created a Firewall rule to allow ICMP to pass between the two zones (and the other way around if you want machines in either zone to ping the other)?

If you have created a rule and have selected <Any> in the application field, this may be your problem. The McAfee guys who sit on this forum may be able to offer a better explanation. But, unlike many other Firewall products, "any" doesn't necessarily mean "any" when it comes to assigning applications to a rule on the McAfee Firewall. If you want ICMP to pass you will need to create a rule for ICMP.

The settings you have referred to (Respond to ICMP echo & timestamp, etc...) are all specific to the Firewall itself. E.g. if you do not enable "Respond to ICMP..." and you try and ping the local interface on the Firewall it will not respond. Enable this setting and it will then start responding.

-Phil.

1 of 1 people found this helpful