8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2013 4:05 PM by SafeBoot

Generic PUP.f

Hi,

Four days a go McAfee updated it sofware and then started displaying a warning ( Potentially Unwanted Program Bloked -  Generic PUP.f.

Is this a safe program  ?

Evey time I quarantie this program,  one minute later it appears again and again and I can't stop the thing.

Is there any way I can change some settings in McAfee to ignore this Generic PUP.f,    bearing in mind I am not very good with computers ?

Thank you.

Bob.

• 1. Re: Generic PUP.f
          exbrit

Open SecurityCenter

Click Navigation

Scroll down and then click Quarantined and Trusted Items

Under the section 'Quarantined Possibly Unwanted Programs' it should be listed.

It should also give details of what it is/was and maybe from that you can determine that information?

There you can either delete it or trust it so that in future it wont be detected.

A PUP is only a potentially unwanted program, it isn't necessarily bad.

• 2. Re: Generic PUP.f

Hi,

I've had this problem myslef for a few days (Win 7 Ultimate). I used Control Panel Uninstall to remove 'ContinueToSave'. That seems to have done the trick - no more nuisance messages from McAfee

No more problems since then.

Cheers

• 3. Re: Generic PUP.f
              Hayton

"ContinueToSave" is adware and is detected as such by Microsoft, at least (Encyclopedia entry HERE).

"Generic PUP.f" is a McAfee catch-all description (first added 2006) for any number of grey-area programs, add-ons, and suchlike. It could refer to anything. If the message has only recently started to appear then something new is either doing the rounds or McAfee has added an existing piece of adware to the list.

• 4. Re: Generic PUP.f

Hi Hayton,

Thank you for your responce,  but the information is over my head, sorry.

I am not cleaver on computers like you chaps are,   so I don't understand what you mean.

Is Generic PUP.f   bad  and should it be stopped from entering the laptop ?