3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 7, 2013 9:48 AM by andrep1

The best ePO multi-site design

dmoore

Hello,

I am new to McAfee ePO and i would like to know what are the best design approach that i can use to achieve the following goals in a multisite network (HQ and 2 branches):

1) Fault tolerance.

2) Minimize traffic on slow connections. (WAN)

3) Perfect updating.

Having components such as Distributed Repositories and Agent Handlers, how can i utilize them to achieve the above mentioned goals?

I've been advised to have the following setup in each location:

a) Two ePO servers.

b) Two Distributed Repos.

c) Two Agent Handlers.

However, i find that it is too much in terms of cost and managability.

Suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: The best ePO multi-site design
          andrep1

Good morning.

A few questions to get  the ball rolling on this discussion.

1. What is your SQL server setup? ePO is totally dependent on the database that hosts the ePO data and is a key component of redundancy. This should be your most solid component.

2. What are you trying to make fault tolerant? dat file updates, event collection fromt he agent, management console.

3. Are you trying to minimize total traffic or peak traffic? Is this about cost or about keeping off the WAN for user experience ?

4. Will you be using ePO to do product deployments or just to manage the products?

5. When you say perfect updating, do you mean updating asap (that is as soon as McAfee makes an update available?)

You mention two epo server and two agent handlers in each site. As an example, I have 100+ sites and 50000+ devices with one ePO server and one agent handler. It is very solid. So I do agree it sounds too much in terms of cost and manageability.

• 2. Re: The best ePO multi-site design
            dmoore

Hi Andre,

Thanks for your reply.

Please see the answers below:

1) SQL server Express that is built-in to the ePO.