2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 7, 2013 8:56 AM by andrep1

Question about agent handlers and multiple domains and forests with no trusts

rbrissey64

I am new to my company and want to deploy ePO 5.0 but have questions:

Scenario:

- I have multiple domains/forests with no trusts between the forests spread across the US and EU.

- I currently have 10 separate 4.5 ePO managers (app server); 1 for each domain we manage.

My Goal:

- 1 App server, 1 agent handler per site (maybe 2 for failover)

My questions:

- Support has told me there MUST be trusts between the forests, why, what directionality?

-- Is it required because of DLP? If we don't use DLP, is it still needed?

-- Is it required if I put the agent handlers in different domains depending on the site they are at? if so, I can just add them to the same domain as the app server.

My company does not want to set up trusts between the different domains. I cannot see any reason (other than maybe the 2 questions above) why there needs to be a trust between any of the domains.

I would apprecate feedback from anyone who has been through a similar situation.

Thanks,

Rod.

• 1. Re: Question about agent handlers and multiple domains and forests with no trusts
          rgc

Hi,

From the McAfee support team, we suggest to have the trust relation ship with multiple domains from different forest, because to add the machines from the other domain to epo.

The trust relation ship should be bi-directional.

Moreover, taking an example you have two domains in different forest and each domain contains 1000 machines with atleast 5 OU's per domain.

So, you install the EPO on one domain environment, and the registered servers from the EPO console, will help to register your local domain and then when you do the AD sync to pull the machine information, it will get the hostnames for those 1000 machines.