2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2013 11:57 AM by Hayton

McAfee compatible system cleaner

As I mentioned in my last thread, I am new to windows and am using XP. I have reloaded XP from time machine into parallels, the reason is to many pop ups with free cleaners and, what a pain in the buttinski it is to remove every thing.

My question is what is a McAfee friendly/compatible system cleaner? It does not have to be free. in other words "what works for you"?

Thanks

Gary

on 29/09/13 12:08:25 EDT PM
        • 1. Re: McAfee compatible system cleaner
          exbrit

If you mean registry cleaners and optimizers we Mods don't recommend any at all because they invariably clean out more than they are supposed to and you end up with a dysfunctiional system as a result.

Windows has it's own Disk Cleanup in Control Panel  (in XP I believe it's called "Free up space...." and you can help by clearing browser caches now and again and emptying the temp folders.

McAfee SecurityCenter also has "Quickclean" under PC & Home Network Tools which can help.

I have used CCleaner in the past with extreme caution to get rid of stubborn programmes that refuse to leave, but my last experience with Registry Mechanic (for example) ended up in my having to reinstall Windows....minus that software.

Winferno has a sales agreement with McAfee and they do cleaners, but I don't recommend them.

• 2. Re: McAfee compatible system cleaner
            Hayton

I mostly agree with what Ex_Brit has said. The reference to

too many pop ups with free cleaners

may be those Winferno-sponsored advertisements that McAfee delivers, although I've never seen one in a pop-up - they come via email, and so are easy to ignore. Winferno's registry cleaner is best avoided. 

If the pop-ups are for something else, then that sounds like third-party adware is on the system.