4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2013 9:35 PM by mrjester

Python - Output query results to text file

woodsjw

Since ePO inexplicibly does not allow you to apply a tag to the results of an EEPC query I'm trying to call the same ePO query from python, dump the results to a file, and then use that same file with python to apply the tag I want.  Running the query is no problem, but I'm new to python so I'm having trouble dumping it to a file.....or would it be more efficient to store it in a list or array and iterate through that to apply the tag? 

• 1. Re: Python - Output query results to text file
          mingle1

Efficiancy is always a matter of opinion... I personally would use both. I would store the information in an array that I can iterate through while always storing it to a file for future use and logging.

If you are having a hard time with dumping the info to a file then I would just iterate through an array. You can always go back and modify your code once you figure it out.

• 2. Re: Python - Output query results to text file
            woodsjw

If I manually populate the list i.e. list = [1,2,3,4,5] I can iterate through it and write it out to a file no problem.  My challenge is getting the results of core.executeQuery into a list or array.

• 3. Re: Python - Output query results to text file
              mingle1

The best way I have managed it in Powershell is with XML. By outputting in xml I can then iterate through the tree and pull out the info that I need...even put it into an array. Otherwise it would be a string which can be more complicated to manipulate. So consider what you are having it output as String, XML, JSON...and maybe tackle it from a different perspective.

• 4. Re: Python - Output query results to text file
                mrjester

Are you not able to apply a tag utilizing a server task?