1 2 3 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2013 12:20 PM by dbcouper

McAfee Total Protection 2013 - error message

dottylass

I installed Total Protection 2013 (CD) in August this year but experienced problems and since installing I have been getting a message box saying Make sure path or Internet address is correct.  Cannot find misp://mscjsres.dll::msc.html.    I contacted McAfee Support and they eventually uninstalled and reinstalled.  However, I am still getting the message box popping up.

From Googling this it seems to be linked with the McAfee product.  I have had cause to contact McAfee Support since and have mentioned this message but this doesn't appear to be being dealt with.  Can anyone give me advice about this message.  I have noticed that the CPU usage is high (but I don't know what this means).      I must mention that I am not technically minded at all with regard to computers so need responses that someone like me can understand.

Your help would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - error message
          Peter M

Is your system, whatever it is, totally up to date- all of it including parts you may not use such as Internet Explorer, plus all browsers' add-ons?

That "Cannot find misp://mscjsres.dll::msc.html" has cropped up in various spots on the forums before and wasn't solved in these forums.

All I can suggest is running the Virtual Technician  and install all operating system updates as mentioned previously and, if you use Registry Cleaners, stop, as this sort of this is often the result.

You might also want to run a few extra anti-malware tools, see the last link in my signature below.

Then I suggest you contact Technical Support again and ask for escalation.

By the way, I don't know who marked your question as "Assumed Answered" - it wasn't me.  That's why it took a while to find it.

Message was edited by: Ex_Brit on 14/09/13 5:57:48 EDT AM
          • 2. Re: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - error message