6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2013 1:29 AM by Laszlo G

Wake Up Agent Moves Computer To Lost and Found

Scott Sadlocha

Hello All,

I am new to McAfee and working on a deployment of the product at my company. This week we started rolling out to a pilot group and have noticed a new issue pop up. We have found that computers are moving in the System Tree when  a Wake Up Agent is done. Once the Wake Up Agent command is issue, a short while later we will find that the managed computer has moved to the Lost and Found folder. I can find no documentation as to why this might be occurring, so I figured I would check here. Has anyone else seen this issue? If so, are there are any reasons for it that I have not yet discovered? Thanks-

• 1. Re: Wake Up Agent Moves Computer To Lost and Found
          Scott Sadlocha

I should note that we have a server task to move the computers to correct containers and it is functioning as intended, but we would rather not have the computers move if it isn't needed.

• 2. Re: Wake Up Agent Moves Computer To Lost and Found
            Laszlo G

Maybe you did set a Sorting Criteria at group-level? i.e. you did set IP ranges for at least one group under system tree? If so any computer that doesn't match a group criteria it will go under lost&found.

Otherwise if you have a server task that moves computers to its groups then you can disable system tree sorting of every computer (Actions->Directory Management->Change sorting status) and so they won't move themselves anymore; of course this only applies if you're using queries to move computers from lost&found to their group

• 3. Re: Wake Up Agent Moves Computer To Lost and Found
              Scott Sadlocha