1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2013 2:13 PM by exbrit

can't access download.mcafee.com

Hi,

First of all, I am not good at IT, so please forgive me if the question is considered stupid, or if the information I provide is not complete.

A while ago I got some problems with my McAfee-software. I got the message that my computer was at risk and that McAfee could not update to the latest version.

I went into my account via home.mcafee.com, found my subscription and chose 'Download', was directed to a site where I had to accept the terms, and click 'download' after that again. Then download.mcafaee.com tries to open, but it fails. "This page can't be displayed". That is the message I get when I am not online, but everything else is working fine.

I am using a normal wireless connection, Windows 7 Home Premium, with Service Pack 1. Internet Explorer 10 (but with Mozilla Firefox it doesn't work either). As far as I know I don't have any other Anti-virus programs installed.

Have uninstalled McAfee now via Control Panel, and restarted my PC, but without luck. So now my computer is unprotected and I can't install McAfee.

If I choose "Fix connection problems" the system comes up with either DNS not available or DNS experiencing problems, but I guess this is a standard message, since all other internet traffic is going fine?

Does anybody have any suggestions? Thanks!

Nico.

• 1. Re: can't access download.mcafee.com
          exbrit

Check for malware using some tools listed in the last link in my signature below.  (Say Stinger and/or Malwarebytes Free)

Make sure all remnants of the old software are gone from Control Panel > Programs > Uninstall a Program

Run the MCPR cleanup tool and reboot.

Run the VCFix tool

Unpack that zip and use the appropriate one for your system, x86 for 32-bit, x64 for 64-bit systems.   If in doubt what you are right-click Computer on your desktop or in your Start Menu and select Properties.

Run the  McPreinstall tool