9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 19, 2013 8:53 AM by stickman RSS

Lockdown pc with DLP 9.3

stickman

Hi guys,

I have been reading the installation and product guides, followed steps to create device rules etc. but just can't get to lockdown pc, block usb ports, etc. This is my first time configuring this, any tips on how to get started? I managed to get DLP endpoint installed on the pc now for blocking externals, shares, printers...

Also.. i created devices class for the pc with GUID to manage this pc with device rule to block USB devices

Message was edited by: minion on 7/18/13 12:55:49 AM CDT

Message was edited by: minion on 7/18/13 1:35:17 AM CDT
        • 1. Re: Lockdown pc with DLP 9.3
          phreeze

what do you mean by lockdown PC ?

Blocking USB ports is relative: if you completey block the USB ports, you block your keyboard, mouse etc.

Blocking STORAGE devices is the most used way. There's KBs an tutorials from MA, https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB60861

First create a rule that blocks all storage devices.

Create a definition of you USB stick

go to the created rule, exclude this definition.

• 2. Re: Lockdown pc with DLP 9.3
            stickman

Ok lock-down might sound a bit harsh, just prevent the user from copying data onto external, block from any shares on the network, prevent from printing, etc.

Thank you for the KB and solutions. Will try it now and give feedback.

• 3. Re: Lockdown pc with DLP 9.3
              stickman

Ok I followed the steps in the KB, tested with USB and still opens. These are the steps I followed:

Solution  1

How to block all USB drives using Host DLP 9.x:

IMPORTANT: Save your policies before making any changes. See KB60758 for detailed information on exporting Host DLP 9.x policies.

1. Log on to the ePO 4.x console.
              2. Click Menu, Data Protection, DLP Policy.
              3. In Device Management, click Device Definitions.