Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
742 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Jul 19, 2013 12:14 AM by shwetimaverma RSS
shwetimaverma Newcomer 3 posts since
Jul 16, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 16, 2013 12:13 PM

IPS Installation using Link Agregation

Hi There,

I am new to NIPS and I have read a lot of documentation ,product guides and discussions about NIPS and NSM. We are planning to implement IPS sensors in our new datacentre. We are on the stage where planning and designing are in process. But I have a query regarding failover configuration. We have two datacentres and using one firewall per datacentre which will be configured as failover to each other. The firewall is checkpoint firewall. Now if we implement IPS sensor in one datacentre and considering the failover, we cannot connect two the IPS sensors to one checkpoint firewall.

Also, we are not using bypass units( since the customer do not  allow the traffic without monitoring). So, if we implement two IPS using one firewall and connect the ports with Link agregation on firewall, would it possible to divert traffic from one IPS and other will be failover. So, in case one IPS goes down, another will be active since both are in failover.

My question here is that, will link agregation ( binding two physical ports in  virtual IP address on firewall) help in failover configuration? attached is the logical diagram for refrence.

Will one IPS will work as active here and another will be failover? Please help

Attachments:
  • dt1 Newcomer 12 posts since
    Apr 17, 2013
    1. Jul 17, 2013 10:20 AM (in response to shwetimaverma)
    Re: IPS Installation using Link Agregation

i don't know if i fully understand the question or two datacentre requirement.

My question here is that, will link agregation ( binding two physical ports in  virtual IP address on firewall) help in failover configuration?