Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
972 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jun 28, 2013 4:18 PM by Peacekeeper RSS
purplesagerr Newcomer 4 posts since
Jun 28, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 28, 2013 2:11 AM

Gulp ... Help

First, I must tell you that I'm a senior citizen, and although I know how to use a computer, I'm totally clueless when it comes to security.  I've been using Norton 360 for many years.  I'm way beyond frustrated to find out today that my computer was hacked into and there was also a Trojan Horse on it.  I have no clue why Norton 360 didn't block these.

Anyway, 7 hours and $420 later, my computer is supposedly fixed.  $170 to un-trash it, $150 for some kind of "anti-hacking thingy" that is supposed to prevent anybody from ever hacking into my current computer and any computer I get in the future and $100 for McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.7.Oi.

McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.7.Oi was sold to me as a 5 Layer Lifetime protection product (?).  The guy explained it to me, but I'm thoroughly confused.  It seems to be an anti-virus program, which is good ... but where is my internet security protection ... where is my firewall?  It also doesn't automatuically back up files like Norton 360 does.

This entire problem started a few days ago when I wasn't able to attach files to my Yahoo emails.  That problem was supposedly fixed today, but I later tried to send an email with an attachment and I wasn't able to attach any files.  I'm going to call the "computer fixer" tomorrow to see why this is still happening.

I'm simply at a loss regarding what to do.  What is the difference between Norton 360 and McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.7.Oi?

I probably posted this in the wromng forum, but I don't know where else to post it.

Can anybody help me?  Please remember that my computer skills are limited to email, internet and WORD documents.

Thank you.