5 Replies Latest reply: Oct 31, 2013 3:49 PM by Kary Tankink RSS

HIPS 8 blocking Cisco VPN Client 5.0.x.x

c8822131

Hi all,

I'm probably overlooking somethng incredibly obvious and I'm new to Firewall Policy management !

I've applied a policy to allow connectivity for endpoints connected to the corporate domain with a rule to allow VPN connectivity.

I've also applied a LAG to ensure only machines that have IP addresses with the corporate domain's DNS Suffix have this rule applied and to "push" any endpoints that have external conections to an "external use" locked down policy.

The issue I have is when the LAG is applied to the policy the VPN connectivity drops out after 4-10 minutes.  If the LAG is removed then VPN connectivity will stablise.

The LAG is configured as follows:

Description: Internal
      Direction: Either

Location Name: Our Corporate Domain Name.
      DNS Suffix Address: Our Corporate Domain Name.

Location status and connection isolation are enabled.

Network Protocol: Any Protocol.
      Media Types: Wired, Wireless and Virtual all selected.

When the dropouts occur the HIPS firewall log shows this LAG rule blocking the VPN client:

Event: Traffic

IP Address: (VPN concentrator IP)

Appplication: Cisco Systems VPN Client (CVPND)

Message: Blocked Outgoing UDP - Source 192.168.0.3:(4396) Destination (VPN Concentrator IP) : (4500)

Matched Rule: Internal

If anyone out there has experienced similar issues or can see anything I've omitted please let me know, this is driving me nuts !

Thanks in advance,

Mike

• 1. Re: HIPS 8 blocking Cisco VPN Client 5.0.x.x
          Kary Tankink

Connection Isolation is causing this.  When this option is enabled, only the network adapter(s) that match the LAG will applied to the firerules AT and BELOW the LAG group itself.  You may need to allow this traffic before the LAG (with Connection Isolation) is processed, which means the firewall rule goes ABOVE the LAG group.