1 2 3 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2013 12:14 AM by JayMan

Lenovo Helix failing to boot after Encrypting

JayMan

Hi All,

This is my first time encrypting a full UEFI based device, so potentially there is something i've missed...

I've got a Lenovo Helix running a clean installation of Windows 8 Enterprise x64, have installed EEPC 7.0.1 & started encrypting the disk. Upon rebooting, the device now hangs at the Lenovo start up screen & doesn't proceed. I've tried changing BIOS/UEFI settings to allow legacy booting as well as UEFI, changed boot device order from Windows Boot Manager to the SDD etc...

Any idea's?

• 1. Re: Lenovo Helix failing to boot after Encrypting
          JayMan

Have rebuilt the laptop & let the encryption process complete fully before rebooting... Still getting the same result of an unbootable device... May have to log a support ticket...

• 2. Re: Lenovo Helix failing to boot after Encrypting
            jmac

It won't solve your issue, but have you tried to disable preboot auth and see if it will boot up minus the login?  I'm guessing this is just the lack of proper UEFI support from MS...

• 3. Re: Lenovo Helix failing to boot after Encrypting
              JayMan

I haven't tried that yet, as it means rebuilding the device again to get to a working state... I haven't had any luck getting the UEFI EETECH standalone to work either, so can't just emergency boot to change the policy on the laptop.

I've got a case open with support which i'm hoping to hear back on soon.

• 4. Re: Lenovo Helix failing to boot after Encrypting
                JayMan

May not get an answer to this one... Had to return the eval unit to Lenovo, so unless we purchase one I'll not be able to go through with the support case

• 5. Re: Lenovo Helix failing to boot after Encrypting
                  jmac

Well, we should be getting some in sometime soon to test our security template.  I'll let you know if I run into the same thing!