Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
2208 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2013 5:04 AM by impulse-mpd RSS
rtgx Newcomer 6 posts since
May 2, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

May 2, 2013 5:26 PM

HIPS 8.0 Activity Logs Blank and Uninstall Failing

Please bare with me as I'm a newb to the forum as well as fairly new to HIPS .  Recently we've run into an issue with HIPS 8.0 which seemed to be performing normally but upon closer examination (and some unusual behavior form machines)we've noticed that some machines (Windows XP/2003 in particular) seem to have their activity logs all of a sudden go blank and aren't reporitng data up to the EPO server either.  After some testing we were able to resolve the issue by running an uninstall of HIPS 7.0 (it appears some remnants were still around) and then disabling everything and uninstalling 8.0 then reinstalling 8.0 with the patches.  We haven't quite figured out yet why the HIPS activity logs all of a sudden went blank and wanted to see if anyone was experiencing the same.  As an additional issue the uninstall both through EPO and manually (after following the instructions unlocking the interface, stopping HIPS, using the apprpriate msiexec uninstall commands) it continues to fail.  The only way we've been unable to remove it is by restarting hte machine and going into safe mode and stopping HIPS and then removing it.  We have a significant amount of machines with the issue so rebooting each of them into safe mode and stopping the machines isn't very practical.  Can anyone provide some advice going forward for either removing HIPS from all of these machines and reinstalling them succesfully or resolving the problem where the HIPS activity logs suddenly go blank.  Has this been seen before at other locations?  Thanks all for your time. 

• btadams Newcomer 14 posts since
    Jan 13, 2012