3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2013 8:02 AM by exbrit

Photo Folders Slow To Open Due To Real-Time Scan

I'm new to these Forii, but I've been unable to get any answer to this situation at all.  Here's a summary:

I have Anti-Virus Plus 2013 on a computer running Win XP SP3, with a dual-core drive and 4GB RAM. McAfee program is installed and working fine, however, when I open the "My Pictures" folder and its sub-folders, they are VERY slow to open.  When I turn Real-Time Scanning OFF, they open immediately. 

This is problemmatic, as I am a photographer, and work with images all day long. I could simply disable Real-Time Scanning while I work with photos, then re-enable it later, but that seems like annoying extra steps.  I have approximately 11,600 photo files (28GB) in 35 main folders, with 420 sub-folders inside them.

The real question is, why doesn't Anti-Virus Plus have the ability to EXEMPT specified folders from the Real-Time Scanning?  Then I could just exempt "My Pictures" from this annoying delay.  The delay, BTW, ranges from 5-20 seconds, depending on how many individual items are in the folder or subfolder.

• 1. Re: Photo Folders Slow To Open Due To Real-Time Scan
          exbrit

This should pass once everything has been scanned once however if it continues you should perhaps consult Technical Support - it's free of charge by phone or online chat and linked under Useful Links at the top of this page.

Many years ago (VirusScan 7) the home product did have the ability to exempt individual files and folders from scans but now that only applies if an object is identified as a PUP (Possibly Unwanted Program) as too many people, gamers especially, were exempting everything and thereby wrecking their machines with malware as a result.   The facility still exists in the Enterprise version but that involves bulk licensing of course.