4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 30, 2013 7:27 AM by exbrit

Custom virus scan unexpected error message McAfee Internet Security 2013

Hello Everyone, I am new to this. I am having problems withMcAfee Internet Security 2013 after being told by McAfee technical support that the problem with this type of error message appearing after I try to do a custom scan is problems with corrupt files on my OS, I am using Windows XP. See attached image.

As of today I am very happy with the level of tech support Ihave received after they remotely connected to my PC and uninstalled andreinstalled McAfee Internet Security using the appropriate utility tools. They have been so very helpful in that they are unable to resolve my problem so they have told me the only way to prevent this happening is to do an complete an OS reinstall just so that custom virus scan will be able to work properly. In short, I have been advised that to prevent this error in my custom scan from happening that my OS will need to be reinstalled needed to prevent this problem in the future. The problem they feel is due to OS files being corrupt on my system. Can anybody reading this shed some light on this? Just to say that I carriedout a CHKDSK and 0KB showed up in bad sectors. Which is good I think?

Everything on my PC including software seems to work,although I have not checked every bit of software. Surely if there had been aproblem with my OS that I would expect some kind of error message to appear oreven the BSOD on my desktop when I boot up or shutdown.