4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2013 9:50 AM by SafeBoot Branched from an earlier discussion.

McAfee automatically deleting a file without my permission "trojan"

MurderMan11Newcomer

9 posts since
      01 Mar 2010

Currently Being Moderated

9. 02 Mar 2010 5:59 PM (in response to SamSwift)

It's not even really about the fact that it may or may not be a virus, as much as it is about the fact that I have no choice but to submit to McAfee's determination of if the file is a virus or not. I, as a user and a customer, should be able to choose whether or not to have a file on my computer. Letting me know that it might be a virus is enough, automatically deleting it and leaving me no way to recover the file and use it except by leaving my computer open to infection is unacceptable. It completely baffles me as to why there isn't an option to add an exception for a specific file. What if I was a programming student, writing programs and my programs kept getting deleted by this? I would have no way to do my work.

on 3/2/10 5:59:43 PM CST

I totally agree agree with this post.

We use Linux based software on a memory stick to load images of Windows 7 on client pc's and laptops.

One of my desktop tecchies informed me there is a problem with the memory stick. I pop it into a SB port on my laptop to check........Mcafee immediately deleted all the files on the memory stick, no warning, no asking for confirmation before deleting, My colleague had a backup of the files on his laptop., when he tried to copy the files to the memory stick, Mcafee once again deleted the files, no warning, no asking for permission or confirmation just going forward and deleted the files. It cost me wasting a morning downloading data recovery software and recovering the data and files on the memory stick.

Mcafee once again living up to its name of McCrappy

Message was edited by: wolf0069 on 2013/02/26 4:16:21 AM
        • 1. Re: McAfee automatically deleting a file without my permission "trojan"