1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply: Jul 15, 2013 11:12 AM by grinder RSS

S2008 VLAN Routing?

Hello all.  I am new to setting up firewalls.  I do understand most of it but just have never done it before.  I would like to know if routing between different subnets on the same interface is possible.  Or do I need to buy some other piece of equipment.  What I am trying to do is have EM1 setup for multiple IP's and subnets. 

IP:     Subnet:

I want to be able to route between the subnets so a device with an IP of can communicate with an IP of

So far I have not been able to get this to work.  I tried just adding alias IP's to the EM1 interface and that did not work. So then I tried to use VLAN's like so.

IP:     Subnet:     VLAN ID: 10

IP:     Subnet:      VLAN ID: 11

IP:     Subnet:     VLAN ID: 12

IP:     Subnet:     VLAN ID: 13

Then I built a policy to allow ANY from VLAN_10 to VLAN_12 and vice versa.  That does not work either. 

Basically I have several devices (PC's, printers, wireless, etc.) all connected into dumb switches.  I want to be able to segregate the devices into different subnets.  So PC's into one subnet, printers in another, etc.  Is this possible and if so how?

BTW this is a new firewall S2008 with v8.3.0 software.

Message was edited by: grinder on 2/8/13 11:15:15 AM CST
        • 1. Re: S2008 VLAN Routing?

The second option that you used is correct. You need to add four vlan interfaces.

Once you do that, can you ping devices on those vlans? That would be the first thing I would focus on. When you are sure that connectivity is correct, then you can look at the policy. For example, what does the audit say when you try to pass traffic through?

• 2. Re: S2008 VLAN Routing?

I did create the VLAN's and once I did I could not even ping the Interface IP's which I find strange.  And I cannot of course ping any IP on any other subnet.  I haven't quite figured out how to use the aduit functionality but I will work on that.