Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
735 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 29, 2013 1:59 PM by Jon Scholten RSS
consoul Newcomer 35 posts since
Aug 18, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 24, 2013 6:48 PM

Quick and dirty log retrieval, don't judge.

While I have become quite adept at logging into each of our proxies ten times an hour to troubleshoot and 'grep' logs I have a much harder time trying to teach a few of our other guys to do so.

The other day I finally tired of having one kind fellow ask me how to break out of a 'tail' with a panicked look in his eyes...so I just gave in and wrote up a quick ruby script. I am no programmer and I worry a bit about how hard this could get torn apart here, but here it is.

If you don't like ruby and don't have it installed this might not be for you. If you 'do' have ruby installed then you can likely script better than me and this serves you nothing. But, if you 'are' like me and dabble in ruby and want to save yourself some time this is an easy way out.

I wrote this in ruby 1.9.3, and you will need to install three gems:

gem install highline

gem install net-ssh

gem install colorize

Code:

#!/usr/bin/env ruby
require 'highline/import'
require 'net/ssh'
require 'colorize'

user = ask("Username: ") {|q| q.echo = true}
pass = ask("Password: ") {|q| q.echo = '*'}
#user = 'readonlyusername'
#pass = 'readonlyuserpassword'
hosts = ['ip','ip','ip','ip']
filter = ARGV[0]
access_log_path = '/opt/mwg/log/user-defined-logs/access.log/access.log'
fileout = File.open("results-#{ARGV[0]}-#{Time.now.strftime("%Y-%m-%d-%H-%M-%S")}.txt","w")
fileout_name = "results-#{ARGV[0]}-#{Time.now.strftime("%Y-%m-%d-%H-%M-%S")}.txt"

hosts.each do |host|
  host = host.chomp
  puts "Retrieving logs from #{host}".yellow
  Net::SSH.start( host, user, :password => pass ) do |ssh|
    fileinfo = ssh.exec!("ls -lh #{access_log_path}").red