8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2013 7:32 AM by derekr

EPO SQL Database

Hi All

I am a SQL DBA and one of the databases I look after is the Mcafee EPO Database. I'm not that clued up with the ins and outs of Mcafee so please bear with me

I have been administering the EPO database and recently I have noticed extreme growth on the database.

I narrowed down the growth to one table (EPOEvents). I have recently implemented a weekly purge to remove data older than a certain date, this helped the situation at first but it seems that more data is coming in than going out.

Having scrutinized the table structure, I noticed that there are 22 indexes on the table, this is not normal for any table.

For those that don't know, when data is inserted into a table, all indexes are updated with the data as well, this is fine if the indexes are being used in data retrieval (select statements). In my case, a few of the indexes have never been read from but are constantly being updated, this causes huge index growth which in-turn causes huge table growth and therefore database growth.

My question: Is it ok to delete these unused indexes from the database?

Any Ideas or pointers?

Thanks

• 1. Re: EPO SQL Database
          Sailendra Pamidi

hi Derek,

To answer your question - deleting or adding indexes without explicit approval from Engineering is not a supported step.  Have you checked if the database has been defragmented (REBUILD INDEX)? KB67184 discusses this.

I would also suggest filtering events which you don't require for reporting - so they don't get sent to ePO in the first place.

• 2. Re: EPO SQL Database

Thanks Sailendra Pamidi

How would I go about getting approval from Engineering?

The indexes are quite fragmented 50%+. I rebuild the indexes every week, this creates temporary breathing room because the amout of data being pumped in greatly exceeds the space reclaimed from rebuilding the indexes